Policy and economy in a few words

22 July 2010 by

A. The states and the territories of the Nation

- Western Australia: 2 525 500 km², Perth is the capital

- Queensland: 1 723 936 km², Brisbane

- South Australia: 978 810 km², Adelaide

- New South Wales: 800 628 km², Sydney

- Victoria: 227 600 km², Melbourne

- Tasmania: 64 519 km², Hobart

- Northern Territory: 1 346 200 km², Darwin

- Act Canberra: 2 358 km², Canberra

B. The policy system

- The Flag: Created from the Union Jack up on the left, the star of the Commonwealth with its seven branch (six for the six states and one for the territories of Australia), and on the right, the South Cross proper to the south Hemisphere.

- The regime: A parliamentary democracy with a queen, Elisabeth II, a governor general and a head of the government, the prime minister. The sovereign is represented by the governor general and by the state governors.
The power is divided in three branch: the legislative (The Queen, the House of representatives, Senate), the executive (Governor general, the prime minister, the ministers), the judiciary ( High Court and Federal Court)

- The official language: English

C. The Economy

- Money: The Australian Dollar, which you can find in 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 banknotes, in coins of 1 or 2 dollars or 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents.

- PIB: 708, 8 billion US Dollars.

- Australia’s economy is growing at a rate of 4% per year for an inflation of 2%.

- Unemployment rate: 4,2%.

- First national activity: Tourism.

- The main cultures: Cereals, cotton, sugar cane, tobacco and a lot of fruits and vegetables.

- Agriculture represents 5% of the working population of Australia.

Last modified : par

Améliorez la pertinence de notre contenu en donnant votre avis, en apportant un complément d'information, une image ou une correction